Home / England Concludes ‘The Ashes Series 2023’ Victoriously

England Concludes ‘The Ashes Series 2023’ Victoriously

Ashes Series 2023

Web Desk — England beat Australia by 49 runs in the 5th Test of the Ashes series to level the series 2-2.

The Australian team was bowled out for 295 runs in the second innings chasing a target of 344 runs. On the other hand, English fast bowler Stuart Broad, who played his last test, ended his Test cricket brilliantly by taking a wicket on the last ball of his career.

England scored 283 runs in the first innings of the 5th Test and 395 runs in the second. In reply, the Kangaroos managed to score 334 in the first innings and 295 in the second.

The Ashes series 2022 was won by Australia 4-0. Also in 2019, the Ashes series was tied 2-2.

Who has won the most Ashes Series?

Out of the 72 series played so far, Australia has won 34 and England 32, with six series ending in draws.

The last 10 series between the two sides have been almost evenly matched, with England winning five and Australia winning four.

Complete Ashes history, results, and statistics:

A total of 36 Ashes series have been played in Australia so far, out of which 20 have been won by Australia while 14 have been won by England. Apart from this, 2 series remain equal.

So far 36 Ashes series have been played in England, of which 14 have been won by Australia and 18 by England. 4 series were drawn.

A total of 72 Ashes series have been played so far, of which 34 have been won by Australia and 32 by England. Up to 6 Ashes are even.

The Ashes – Some Interesting Facts

  1. Why the name ‘Ashes’?

The term ‘Ashes’ came up for the first time in 1882 when Australia defeated England in a Test match at Kennington Oval, London. The defeat wasn’t really accepted by the English people and the media.

A journalist Reginald Shirley Brooks made a mockery out of the English team in the Sporting Times: “In Affectionate Remembrance of English Cricket which died at the Oval on 29th August 1882, deeply lamented by a large circle of sorrowing friends and acquaintances. R.I.P. N.B.—The body will be cremated, and the ashes taken to Australia.”

In 1882-83, the English side was to tour Australia for the subsequent series. Captain of the England team Ivo Bligh made a promise to the fans that he would bring “The Ashes of English cricket” back.

However, the term “ashes” took more than 20 years to get established as an ‘official name’ for the series when Australian captain Pelham Warner took his team to England to regain “the ashes” in 1903.

  1. England never completed a Whitewash

England, since the 20th century, has never completed a total whitewash over Australia.
Yes, England did win the series without losing a game, but then the others ended in a draw. As far as the Kangaroos are concerned, they have done it in 1920-21, 2006-07, and 2013-14. In 1978-79, England beat Australia 5-1.

  1. What happens in case of a draw?

The winner of the previous series retains the title if the series is tied. It happened in 1938 for the first time when being the defending champion, Australia retained the ashes.

Check Also

Pakistan No. 1 ODI team

Pakistan Becomes Men’s NO. 1 ODI Team

Web Desk — The 3-match series whitewash over Afghanistan has made Pakistan the No. 1 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *