Home / Know The Countries Where UAE Driving License Is Accepted

Know The Countries Where UAE Driving License Is Accepted

UAE driving license

Web Desk — If you are in a foreign country and want to drive a car, all you need is your UAE driver’s license, in case you are present in any one of the countries that recognize the UAE driving license.

‘Markhoos’ is an online service that the UAE Ministry of Interior (MOI) provides to help you find the list of countries where you can drive with your UAE-issued driving license. However, you can only do so when you are traveling on a visit visa.

Countries that recognize UAE driving license


Remember, as a UAE resident with a driving license, you can easily drive in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries – Saudi Arabia, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, and Bahrain.

You are also allowed to drive in the following countries on your UAE driving licence, when on a visit visa:

  1. Estonia
  2. Albania
  3. Portugal
  4. China
  5. Hungary
  6. Greece
  7. Ukraine
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Slovakia
  10. Slovenia
  11. Serbia
  12. Cyprus
  13. Latvia
  14. Luxembourg
  15. Lithuania
  16. Malta
  17. Iceland
  18. Montenegro
  19. United States of America
  20. France
  21. Japan
  22. Belgium
  23. Switzerland
  24. Germany
  25. Italy
  26. Sweden
  27. Ireland
  28. Spain
  29. Norway
  30. New Zealand
  31. Romania
  32. Singapore
  33. Hong Kong
  34. Netherlands
  35. Denmark
  36. Austria
  37. Finland
  38. United Kingdom
  39. Turkey
  40. Canada
  41. Poland
  42. South Africa
  43. Australia
  44. Israel
  45. Republic of Azerbaijan

What if the country is not on the list?

You can apply for an International Driving License (IDL) if the country you are traveling to is not on the list. IDL is also referred to as an International Driving Permit (IDP).

A valid UAE driving license is a must in order to apply for the license.

The UAE government’s official website – u.ae, is the platform where you can apply for an IDP through the following entities:

  • Automobile and Touring Club of UAE (ATCUAE)
  • Dubai’s Roads and Transport Authority (RTA) offices
  • Emirates Post offices
  • Dnata office in Sheikh Zayed Road
  • affiliate members of ATCUAE
  • Interior Ministry through the MOI UAE app, available on iTunes and Google Play.

Cost and validity

  • Dh170 plus five per cent Value Added Tax (VAT).
  • The permit is only valid for one year.

Check Also

YouTube CEO Step down

YouTube CEO Susan Wojcicki Steps Down

Web Desk — Susan Wojcicki will be stepping down as YouTube CEO after nine years …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *